First Serve Sarah & Craig

We recently welcomed two First Servers Sarah and Craig who have also just completed their time with us before going on to the next stage of their course.  Both are hoping to go out individually to Zambia after having an ‘at home’ placement here in the UK.

Read more about them

Sarah Laurenson

My name is Sarah Laurenson, I am 22 years old and I come from Shetland. I have 3 weeks at Tilsley and then a church placement at Cartsbridge Evangelical church. After my placement there I will return home before heading to Zambia for 3 months.

Craig Bruce

So I’m Craig, I’m 20 years old and I’m from Edinburgh. I was brought up in a loving Christian family and attended my local church from a very young age. At the age of 12 I stopped going to church and lived a pretty rebellious lifestyle for the next 5 years, my selfishness brought about guilt, regret and emptiness.

I always believed in God and when I turned 17 I was drawn to look into this person called Jesus that my family wouldn’t stop talking about. As I read what the Bible said about how sinful our hearts are, how a holy God has to punish our sin and how he loves us so much that he gave his son to take the punishment we all deserve on the cross I was pierced to the heart. I watched the cross scene from the film ‘the passion of the Christ’ and was brought to tears, I got on my knees and gave my life to the Lord that day.

My life has completely changed and I now want to live for God in response to his love. That’s the main reason I’ve decided to do the Firstserve programme.

The first month consists of one month at Tilsley Bible college studying God’s character in his word, gaining cultural understanding and evangelism training. The second month consists of doing a church placement down south in Newcastle at a Church called ‘Regent Chapel’ where I’ll be practically serving and using the time as a stepping stone for the work I’ll be doing out in Zambia. I’ll be going to Zambia for 3 months to experience life as an overseas missionary, doing some sports coaching, working at the local orphanage in Chingola and helping out at the school in Ndola.

Leave a Reply

